#### LMYC WINDWARRIOR

# Monthly Update

26/5/2024

### SCRATCH AND PERFORMANCE RACING

May racing was sailed in a mix of light north easterly and south westerly breezes. Two of the four regattas were abandoned due to inclement weather.

After 8 regattas and 2 drops Dave Anstey again won the autumn scratch series with Terry Farrell second and Chris Villa third. In the performance racing Terry Farrell sailed consistently to finish first ahead of Eric Law and Simon Griffiths who were equal third.

The yearly scratch competition series was dominated by Dave Anstey with Adam Cooke second and a three way tie for third between Brad Quiggin, Marshall Harper and Chris Villa. The annual performance competition has been won by Eric Law with Simon Griffiths second and Marshall Harper third. Dave Anstey has won the gun boat competition with 102 wins ahead of Brad Quiggin with 81 wins and Adam Cooke on 68 wins.

## **PURSUIT RACING**

The twenty third round of the Orrell Cup were sailed on 4<sup>th</sup>May with the winner being Chris Villa. The twenty fourth round was abandoned due to a strong breeze and heavy rain. The final results have seen Dave Anstey win the Orrell Cup from Eric Law with Simon Griffiths third.

## AUTUMN AND YEARLY SERIES STATISTICS

During Autumn there was a total of 19 individual competitors with an average of 11 competitors per regatta. There were 3 competitors who sailed in all available regattas. A total of 77 pointscore races and 12 pursuit races were sailed giving a combined total of 89 races that were sailed in our Autumn series.

During the year there was a total of 20 individual competitors with an average of 12 competitors per regatta. A total of 376 pointscore races and 60 pursuit races were sailed giving a combined total of 436 races that were sailed for the 2023-2024 season.

Marshall Harper